Bells

Alright, I’ve had just about enough of this! 

This idea floating around that I’ve forgotten things that I knew as a pup is just completely unmerited. 

Like ringing the bell. Who ever thought that I could forget how to ring the bell? It was the first thing I learned, for crying out loud! ‘Ring the bell‘ were some of the first words I heard (along with “Rusty, no!” and “Please don’t do that there!“) so how can anyone possibly think that I could forget what they mean?

Anyway, this morning I reached the end of my rope. 

I was sitting at the top of the stairs, just minding my own business, when Jay suddenly looked at me and said “Rusty, if you gotta go outside you go down there and ring the bell.” 

So I rolled my eyes, heaved a deep, deep, exasperated sigh, and sprinted down the stairs to smack the bell with all my force. I looked at Jay and shouted “SEE? I HAVEN’T FORGOTTEN ANYTHING!”

Then I sat down and waited for him to put my coat on.

 

Colours

 

About James McDonall

I believe in laughing, especially at yourself, and as often as possible. I believe in "live and let live". I believe that communication is the foundation of all our solutions. I believe that listening is more important than speaking, and that speaking should always serve the cause of listening. View all posts by James McDonall

One response to “Bells

Leave a comment