Birthday Partay

Sunday was my best friend’s birthday. His name is Wags and he’s a white-haired terrier pooch. He has sooooo many friends – I aspire to his level of greatness – but you know what? I was the only four-legged fellow he invited. 

It was crazy times. He’s got at least a hundred toys in a bin near the kitchen and like a gracious host he let me pull them out and spread them all over the floor. He also got some new ones as birthday presents and he let me play with them, too. 

Anyway, here we are. He’s opening a present and I’m trying to stay out of his way a little while he works, but I’m right there – oh yes, I’m ready to play.

His mommy made him a cake, too. I forget what was in it, but it was very good. There were dog cookies in the middle, and they put candles on it and everything. He waited patiently for permission to get into it.

Once he did get the go-ahead there was no holding him back. He ploughed into that cake like a wild man, and in only moments his face was covered with it. It sure was good. He even sent some home with me!

He got no help unwrapping his presents. He was left to work his way into the packaging, trying to pull it aside so he could get at the treat inside. Being nine, of course he had no problems getting this done. There’s a method to these things, as every dog knows, and he has long since figured it out.

After a while sitting there patiently and minding my own business, I noticed a red thing wrapped up and sitting unattended on the couch. I was curious, of course, and when I got a whiff of its scent I got positively excited and it was all I could do to not just leap onto it and tear it to shreds. But I didn’t. That wouldn’t have been a very nice thing to do to my friend, now would it?  

Anyway, it was a really good party and I think everyone had fun. I know I did. 

And that night I slept the sleep known to happy pooches everywhere. 

 

About James McDonall

I believe in laughing, especially at yourself, and as often possible. I believe in "live and let live". I believe that communication is the foundation of all our solutions. I believe that listening is more important than speaking, and that speaking should serve the cause of listening. If you like my writing, I'm available for hire. Please send me an Email to discuss your project. View all posts by James McDonall

3 responses to “Birthday Partay

Leave a Reply

