Road Trippin’

I’ve got these guys well and truly figured out. I sit in my chair in the living room, looking out, and they think I’m not paying attention to stuff, but I am. I’m listening. I’m paying attention. I know what’s going on. My mama ditn’t raise no dummy!

This is how it goes down. One of them will decide it’s nearly time to go somewhere and they’ll start saying things like:

M: “So when you’re ready you wanna put the p-o-o-c-h into his h-o-u-s-e?”

J: “I don’t know, maybe the p-o-o-c-h would like to go for a ride in the c-a-r this time. We left him in his h-o-u-s-e yesterday coz we had to go to the restaurant.”

M: “Yes, but it’s warm out and we may decide…”

By this time, of course, I’ve figured out what they’re talking about and I make up my own mind, so that even as they’re still talking I’m already making my way to the back door. I sit there, patiently, until they realize at last that I just don’t feel like going into my house today – that I want to be with them, in the car, smelling the sultry smells of a warm summer day and enjoying the company of my two most stalwart friends as the air from the open window flaps my ears around. 

Oh yes, I’ve got them figured alright.

Click Me

 

About James McDonall

I believe in laughing, especially at yourself, and as often possible. I believe in "live and let live". I believe that communication is the foundation of all our solutions. I believe that listening is more important than speaking, and that speaking should serve the cause of listening. If you like my writing, I'm available for hire. Please send me an Email to discuss your project. View all posts by James McDonall

2 responses to “Road Trippin’

Leave a Reply

