When I was a pup

When I was a pup I spake as a pup – I pooped as a pup and peeped as a pup. But now I’m a big boy and it’s time to put away puppish things. Now I must turn my thoughts to important things – like hounding for that next cookie treat, and spreading myself around for tummy rubs. Now I understand my place and my responsibilities, and the value of prioritizing workloads. Now I make decisions about my life that I could never make before. 

Wait. No, that’s wrong. I used to be a pup, now I’m a pooch, but all the other conditions still apply. 

  • I’m still cute.
  • I’m still smart.
  • I still get them to clean up after me.
  • I still get them to feed me.
  • They are still my living, breathing saltlicks.
  • I can still get them to play with me whenever I want. 
  • They treat me when I think I deserve it. 
  • I don’t have to walk myself.

Let’s face it, I own them.

Some things change as we get older, but under the skin we all just want to control our own destinies. When we’re little we want to rule the world. When we get bigger, we’re happy if we can control our own schedule.
 
Hug your doggy. If you don’t have one, get one, and hug it.
 
About James McDonall

I believe in laughing, especially at yourself, and as often possible. I believe in "live and let live". I believe that communication is the foundation of all our solutions. I believe that listening is more important than speaking, and that speaking should serve the cause of listening. If you like my writing, I'm available for hire. Please send me an Email to discuss your project. View all posts by James McDonall

2 responses to “When I was a pup

Leave a Reply

