Walkies

Ok, all dressed? Good. This is important work. Let’s go. Walkies is my very favourite time of day. Morning walkies? That’s fun, though I’m seldom completely awake. Still, there’s a subtle magic to the first long pee of the day – as if all those rabbit and cat dreams are pent up and need to get out. I walk funny at the start of a walk – sort of sideways – like my legs have forgotten how to coordinate. The midday walk is the long one – usually with the old guy. We cover a lot of ground and I’m usually quite tired by the time we get home. It’s not just the walking that’s tiring, but all the other obligatory walk-related activities. It goes like this: ok, we’ve left, so now what? Sniff, sniff. Ooh a rabbit poop! Run run run. Trot. Study (staring, actually). Rabbit at ten o’clock – nope, not in range. Ooh, child at three o’clock – definitely in range coming out of the front door of that house. Lunge lunge – snap! Darned short leash. Just a sniff – pleeeeeeease? Different – not like a puppy at all – more like soap and some other acrid smell – not sure what that could be. Ok, over there now – it’s absolutely critical that I go over there now. Aww, nothing but an old beer can – hmmm, still some beer in it. Better not – I remember the last time. No wait, that was brandy – but that’s another story. What this? A great big, tightly-coiled, dry – nope, it’s just bit of rope. Here’s a metal thing that looks like a – LOOK OUT FOR THAT CAR!! Uh-oh – I recognize this place – the one with the great big dog – speaks with a German accent. Ack all up in my face like he own da joint! Oh wait, he does. Hurry-hurry! I gotta do number two – not far from home now – gotta sniff everything, talk to everyone. That’s a leaf. There’s a bag of garbage, some grass clippings. Oh look, someone left their cell phone on that trailer. The grass is wet tonight – was it raining? I guess that means a foot wash! Oh, there’s the house. Sniff sniff sniff sniff sniiiiiiff. Ooh, a kibble! Nope, yuck. A turd. Sit? Sit? What am I, a dawg!? You never make me sit before crossing  the road anymore – that was kid stuff. Now we just keep going. So when is the next walk? That’s the longer one – the one with the old guy. As long as that? Oh, ok. I guess. Sniff. Sure I’m done. Uh-oh, I forgot to poop. Oh well, I guess I’ll have to hold it ’til next time. 

Quit pointing that thing at me!

 

About James McDonall

I believe in laughing, especially at yourself, and as often possible. I believe in "live and let live". I believe that communication is the foundation of all our solutions. I believe that listening is more important than speaking, and that speaking should serve the cause of listening. If you like my writing, I'm available for hire. Please send me an Email to discuss your project. View all posts by James McDonall

Leave a Reply

