And I’m Back

I just got back from the last trip when the next one started. Remember the kennel?

20130616-095732.jpg
Well, on May 24th I got really well-acquainted with it.

We made one of those early morning starts that now make me nervous (see Aw, Nuts!. We were in the car by 8am, stuck in traffic by 805am and pulling up to a big grey building with a lot of cars in it by 820am.

This is where it got tricky for me. Usually when I get out of the car they put the leash on and we go walkies somewhere, but this time it was different. This time Jay scooped me up, right out of the car, and put me in the kennel! I didn’t even know they had it with them!

“So what’s all this?!” I griped. “Why have you stuffed me in here? Why is my rooster here, and my beaver, and – ooh, a bone!

I continued to gripe and groan and grunt with extreme angst the whole way into the building, watching through fishnet walls as they rolled me in on top of a suitcase. Of course, I chewed on that bone – I mean, it was there, so why not? – but other than that, I was some perturbed.

Inside I saw lots of people of all different shapes and sizes and lots and lots of bags of all different sizes and colours. I even saw another pooch – a big yellow one like the Golden Reverter that attacked me a while back, except that this one was nice.

My perturbation diminished slightly as I got into that bone of mine, but as I chewed and gnawed, and gnawed and chewed I was still somewhat unsettled with the immediate situation. Little did I know, however, that it was only just beginning.

20130617-075115.jpg
I saw a clock on the wall and realized it had only been three hours since I had been sleeping nicely in my bed. I tucked in to my bone a little more aggressively as I contemplated this oh so rude awakening, and resolved to address it with Jay and Em once they were finished dealing with the lady behind the counter.

About James McDonall

I believe in laughing, especially at yourself, and as often possible. I believe in "live and let live". I believe that communication is the foundation of all our solutions. I believe that listening is more important than speaking, and that speaking should serve the cause of listening. If you like my writing, I'm available for hire. Please send me an Email to discuss your project. View all posts by James McDonall

Leave a Reply

