Some kind of dream

Dear Diary,

This has been a very good day for me.

I started by sleeping in – I was pretty tired, after all that hard work I did yesterday (don’t ask me, I don’t remember). Then I got up and had a little stretch in the living room – some calisthenics you know – what we call puppy Pilates. Then I had a bite for breakfast – some kibble and a touch of bran muffin for rrrrrrregularity. Then I took Uncy Em for a walk – he needs it, you know.

After that I was just hanging around, minding my own business, when all of a sudden Uncy Jay called me to the back door.

He had a plastic bag in his hand and there was something in it. I was intrigued. I think my tail started to move – sometimes it does that on its own. He hooked me up to the leash and opened the door. I preceded him, turning around to see what was going on. Just as I did he pulled the thing out of the bag and showed it to me.

I smelled it right away. Musty, fresh, stimulating. Its singular aroma swam toward me and my nostrils flared as something in what I could see and smell seemed to trigger almost intrinsic memories. It’s hard to explain, but I suddenly pictured myself running stealthily through a frozen forest, chasing after something, hunting it down – suddenly, everything else had melted away and I was face to face with… my very first soup bone. There was meat on it! I tackled that first.

Uncy Jay watched me for a few minutes. Finally, I looked up at him, exasperated, and said:

“Um, do you mind? I mean, do I sit and watch you eat?”

“Actually, yes, you do,” he said, but walked away and into the house. He stood in the kitchen window, watching me, but I could deal with that. I pointed my very best fake smile at the kitchen window and returned to work pulling meat off my bone.

It was an almost sensual experience, licking and biting and grinding the meat off the bone and gouging the pulp from inside it. My tongue curled way up inside and came back with a load of marrow and it was so good I just had to have some more. I worked away at that sweet, fresh meat for a few more minutes before I looked up at the clock.

Three hours had passed. Three hours! I was stunned. I had to go in, but I didn’t want to – there was still so much for us (me and the bone) to talk about. But it was supper time, and what if I was missing opportunities inside?

Anyway, here it is, so say hello to my little friend. If I can I’ll go and play with it some more tomorrow.

Yes, this has been a very good day.

20130425-203223.jpg

About James McDonall

I believe in laughing, especially at yourself, and as often possible. I believe in "live and let live". I believe that communication is the foundation of all our solutions. I believe that listening is more important than speaking, and that speaking should serve the cause of listening. If you like my writing, I'm available for hire. Please send me an Email to discuss your project. View all posts by James McDonall

Leave a Reply

