Different

20130415-085732.jpg

There’s something different today. Something’s weird. Odd. Strange.

When I got up this morning I expected to find Jay gone, as usual – he goes to school so early – but he wasn’t gone at all. He was still in bed!!! This surprised me greatly and I was so happy that I jumped up on his bed, scrambled up on his chest and lay down there, and licked him on his face, his ears, his nose, his neck and so on. Of course, this made him so happy by return that he twisted and thrashed his head wildly from side to side, making gurgling and grunting sounds, and holding me firmly in place – I can only presume so that I would never stop.

“So how come you still here, Uncy Jay?” I asked. “Aren’t you going to school today?”

“No school, buddy. I just have to deliver my last paper and I’m done.”

“Did you get it done?”

“Yup. Yesterday.”

“So what now?”

“Now after I take it in I get to relax. I have jobs to do here at home and at the hall, but at least I don’t have to get up at 6am every day for a while.”

“Woof!” I said, meaning ‘Hooray!’

I licked him some more and Em came in and caught us in the act.

“Why don’t you two get a room?” he said.

“But,” I replied, “we’ve got one.”

About James McDonall

I believe in laughing, especially at yourself, and as often possible. I believe in "live and let live". I believe that communication is the foundation of all our solutions. I believe that listening is more important than speaking, and that speaking should serve the cause of listening. If you like my writing, I'm available for hire. Please send me an Email to discuss your project. View all posts by James McDonall

Leave a Reply

