C minus

When we went to pick Jay up at school early today I was a little surprised. I wasn’t expecting to see him so soon.

“What’s up?” I said, looking at Em.

“Under the weather,” said Em.

“Ohhhh,” I replied. This didn’t surprise me – I think Jay works waaaaay too hard.

Anyway, I guess I messed up a bit. When we got home, Jay went to his room to lie down for a while. I now gather that what I was supposed to do is curl up obediently like a good pup and snooze next to him so he could wrap his groggy arm around me and be comforted.

Instead, what I did was climb up on top of him, lick him in his ear, bark loudly for him to come and play, and snort my supreme disappointment that he wasn’t eager. I then jumped off the bed and ran into the living room.

Later on when Jay surfaced he pointed and looked at me sternly.

“C-minus,” he said.

“What did he do?” said Em.

“He disappeared,” replied Jay. “Man’s best friend, my eye.”

Well, needless to say I internalized this horribly. It bothered me for at least a minute and a half before by sheer force of determination I put it out of my mind.

Completely.

20130326-200943.jpg

About James McDonall

I believe in laughing, especially at yourself, and as often possible. I believe in "live and let live". I believe that communication is the foundation of all our solutions. I believe that listening is more important than speaking, and that speaking should serve the cause of listening. If you like my writing, I'm available for hire. Please send me an Email to discuss your project. View all posts by James McDonall

Leave a Reply

