Friendship

It’s February 2nd, and round these parts they call these ‘the dog days of winter’ – I’m not really sure why.

Anyway, I was flicking back and forth in my photo album the other day – you know, killing time – when I found this.

20130202-085706.jpg

That’s Sidney. I don’t remember it very well because I was so young at the time, but that’s him, lying on top of me in one of the cars (I think the big blue one), last summer. He says he was keeping me warm because the air conditioning was on and it was blowing right on top of me.

My first memories of Sidney are a little fuzzy. I remember we fought a lot, but that it didn’t really seem like fighting – to me it was more like playing at him hitting me even though he always looks so serious. Does that make sense?

I think by doing that he was trying to teach me something, though I’m not really sure what that is. All I know is that I am now very reluctant to carry him or any of the other special critters off somewhere and chew on them like I do my own stuffies. It’s like he showed me a line that I cannot cross – as though everything on this side of that line is safe and good and warm, and everything on the other side is dark and dull and dangerous. Do you know what I mean? Have you ever felt that?

Anyway, Sidney and I are great friends now. We sleep together every night – with Snerk and Snick, of course – and I know that he would defend me with every ounce of the stuffing in his being if I were ever in any trouble. He’s wise and loyal, and stern and kind, and strong and tender. He runs some big critter support outfit or other. I don’t know much about it, but I’m going to make it my business to find out, and I’ll let you know.

So we’re going for a walk in about an hour – that’s early, but I’m looking forward to it.

About James McDonall

I believe in laughing, especially at yourself, and as often possible. I believe in "live and let live". I believe that communication is the foundation of all our solutions. I believe that listening is more important than speaking, and that speaking should serve the cause of listening. If you like my writing, I'm available for hire. Please send me an Email to discuss your project. View all posts by James McDonall

Leave a Reply

