Resolutions

So for some reason which I cannot figure out we were out very late last night. Oh, I know we went to see lovely P and J, my lady friends from before, and we ate dinner (well, they did) and watched a movie (well, they did), and generally had a lovely evening. But we were up much later than I’m used to and today I’m bound to say that I feel a little out of sorts on account of it.

There was a lot of “happy new year”ing going on last night. Everyone was saying it to everyone else, though for the life of me I can’t figure out why. To me today seems just like any other day; what is it, Tuesday? Well, it feels – if you’ll forgive me – just exactly like last Tuesday – except for the presents, of course. Then when we got home from P and J’s Jay turned on the TV for a few minutes and the people there were being even more goofy than usual and – you guessed – they were all saying “Happy New Year” all the time. I haven’t figured out yet what they mean by that, but it seems to have something to do with the paper thing that Jay and Em have hung on the refrigerator – the square with all the numbers in it. When I figure it out I’ll let you know.

Then there was the matter of resolutions. Em resolved not to make any resolutions at all – and guaranteed he would stick to it. Jay on the other hand made a resolution to continue to be just as perfect as always – although I noticed he had his fingers crossed behind his back when he said it. I don’t know what a resolution is, but if it involves predicting the future then I’m in: I resolve to be as good a boy as I can in 2013 as long as it fits with what I’m in the mood for and as long as it doesn’t interfere with my pupponal style.

Anyway, in the spirit of things:

Happy New Year!

Just little ol' me

Just little ol’ me

About James McDonall

I believe in laughing, especially at yourself, and as often possible. I believe in "live and let live". I believe that communication is the foundation of all our solutions. I believe that listening is more important than speaking, and that speaking should serve the cause of listening. If you like my writing, I'm available for hire. Please send me an Email to discuss your project. View all posts by James McDonall

Leave a Reply

