Tree

Aha! I have finally caught him! Which is to say that he has finally taken a day off from studying and agreed to help me write my blog again. Honestly, I don’t know why I should have to compete for attention which ought to be mine by birthright.

Today things are quite upset around here – suffice it to say that something strange is going on.

First thing this morning, Jay went out to the garage and got a large, long box, which he laid on its side in the living room. Now, I don’t know about you, but I am constantly being scolded for bringing my things into the living room and leaving them there, so I was watching this activity with considerable interest and disdain.

Next, he asked Great-Gampa and Gampa to retire from the living room to the dining area, and this, being very helpful souls, they most graciously agreed to do.

Then he went to the big, long box and opened it, and pulled out a large, green thing that was almost as tall as he is when stood on end (the tree, that is, not Jay). In fact, for a moment or two I got excited and started barking at it because it looked like it was going to attack.

Jay set the big green thing (which he told me is called a ‘tree’) in the bow window where G and GG’s chair had been. He stuck something in the wall and stood back, arms crossed, as the tree lit up, then he started pulling down on its arms, arranging them for what purpose I do not know, and hanging gold balls and stars and streamers and tinsel all over it. The urge to bark had long since left me. Instead, I just sat down on the couch and watched, shaking my head at the strangeness of it all.

Jay then vacuumed, tidied up, dusted some, helped G and GG get set up in new locations (they are completely helpless, those two!) and put in a very strange show which he called a ‘Christmas Movie’ but which seemed more frightening and silly to me than inspiring (for so I have always understood Christmastime to be). I think it was called – really silly – “The Nightmare Before Christmas”.

Anyway, now it’s all done and I have taken it upon myself to punish Jay for all this upset by licking his arms from top to bottom. No matter how many times he may call me the “goofus doofus” I will always take my responsibilities seriously.

Here is a picture of the tree, and one of GG in his new locale. With a direct view of the television he does seem very happy.

20121130-140425.jpg

20121130-140439.jpg

About James McDonall

I believe in laughing, especially at yourself, and as often possible. I believe in "live and let live". I believe that communication is the foundation of all our solutions. I believe that listening is more important than speaking, and that speaking should serve the cause of listening. If you like my writing, I'm available for hire. Please send me an Email to discuss your project. View all posts by James McDonall

Leave a Reply

