No Way!!

“Excuse me,” I chimed, “but, aren’t we a little bit late going for a walk this evening?” Nobody listens to me, though. Not that it matters: all they ever hear is “Rraowerrar!” anyway.

Quarter past eight and we were still in the house. Usually we’re half way around by then! It might have had something to do with having my bum washed earlier – I guess I was a little stinky. But no, I think it was something else. There was something else at work here – sometimes these guys are hard to figure out.

Finally, at ten to nine, Jay was ready. “At last!” I grumped. “I have to pee.”

Collar on (took it off earlier to get my bum washed), harness on. Ooh, what’s this? The coat tonight? That’s different. It felt like an omen of some sort.

“I’ll have the hair dryer ready when you guys get back,” says Em, and that felt a little bit different too. I turned and looked at them both, as if to say “Alright, what’s going on?” But of course I didn’t say anything. I mean, why bother? I have to go for a walk either way.

Out the door we went, and the second we hit the outside air, I understood. There were strange goings on going on. First, I could see my breath, which is quite strange because usually I only see it first thing in the morning. Then I noticed that there were small white things falling from the sky. Lots of small white things. I looked up, to try to see better, and one hit me right in the eye! I shook my head and looked up again, but the miscreant was gone.

So many of those things! Fat, almost hairy like big, white bugs, falling and hitting the ground, splat! Lots of them. Lots and lots of them! Hundreds, maybe even thousands!

“This is new,” I said to Jay.

“And a rraowerr! to you too, young man,” he replied. He’s such a goof – he never listens.

I walked with Jay to the front of the house. The pavement was wet, but then we got to the front lawn and I could see that it looked different. It looked funny, like someone spilled white paint all over it.

“Rrawererrr?” I asked.

“That’s snow,” Jay replied. Oh sure, now he listens!

I walked in the grass, remembering vaguely that Em had said I shouldn’t do so (somehow that made it more satisfying). I quickly noticed that the white stuff I was standing in was getting COLD! I leaned forward and stuck my nose in the grass – into the white stuff. I took a lick. Hm, funny: no real taste to it, just a strange, metallic tinge. Of course, kibble being my only real comparison I couldn’t tell you what it tasted like, but it definitly wasn’t kibble.

On the sidewalk in front of the house I watched as some of the big white things hit the ground. I leaned forward to lick them, too, but imagine my surprise when they just disappeared, right there on the sidewalk, right before my eyes! I barked my frustration – just the occasional bad word – and moved on to the neighbour’s yard. His grass looked funny, too, so I stuck my nose in it there too, and looked over at Jay.

“Cold, huh?” he said.

“You bet your sweet bippy,” I replied, though it sounded to Jay more like “Ruff!”

We started walking. Every yard near ours was just the same, and the white things – the snow flakes, as Jay was calling them – were still falling quickly.

It wasn’t long before my feet started to feel really cold, and soon I was walking quickly, bouncing around, hopping, skipping, and trotting along. I finally got my jobbies done, and we headed back home.

I turned to look at Jay as we headed up the driveway. “That’s one for the books,” I said.

“Can’t argue with you there, little man,” he replied. “Can’t argue with you there.”

20121010-232820.jpg

About James McDonall

I believe in laughing, especially at yourself, and as often possible. I believe in "live and let live". I believe that communication is the foundation of all our solutions. I believe that listening is more important than speaking, and that speaking should serve the cause of listening. If you like my writing, I'm available for hire. Please send me an Email to discuss your project. View all posts by James McDonall

Leave a Reply

