Consequence

20121006-185233.jpg

“You see that, Rusty? That gate is a direct consequence of your actions of a couple of weeks ago.”
Rraawearrar,” I replied.
“What do I mean? I mean, if you hadn’t peed and pooped in the house this gate wouldn’t be there. We would trust you more, and the gate wouldn’t be there.”
Rrearwarrwr.”
“Well, there’s no point taking that attitude – you brought it on yourself.”
Rawrererrr?
“Yes, of course we still love you, but you have to realize that there are consequences to the things that we do. If you forget where the bell is, this kind of thing is going to happen.”
Rit. Rarewaeerer.
“Yes, it’s there on the right. It works just the same as it did – it’s just not on the door any more.”
Rrrawawerrr!”
“No, I won’t miss it. If you ring it, I will hear it.”
“Rrawrr.”
“We’ll, thank you Rusty. I think you’re a good kid, and you’re this close to finally getting the peep and poop thing down. But you’re not there yet, and we like our carpet too much to take a chance until we think that you’re ready. Are you with me?”
“Rif. Rrawrr.”
“Good. I wouldn’t want you to think that we’re just being hard on you. Now come on – let’s go watch a movie.”
“Rruf!”

About James McDonall

I believe in laughing, especially at yourself, and as often possible. I believe in "live and let live". I believe that communication is the foundation of all our solutions. I believe that listening is more important than speaking, and that speaking should serve the cause of listening. If you like my writing, I'm available for hire. Please send me an Email to discuss your project. View all posts by James McDonall

Leave a Reply

