I keep trying

Apparently I was a bad boy today, and I’m not even sure why. Oh, I remember it clearly enough. I’m just not hugely clear on why my infraction is such a big deal.

We were out getting something important done to Em’s big gold car – something very loud that involved a lot of noise. All of a sudden there was a big commotion. Filters, we had to have filters. The filter we had didn’t fit, so someone had to go to the store.

So off we went, Jay and Em and I, and when we got there Em went inside to get the filter and Jay stayed outside with me. That was okay, except of course we were in the big blue car at the time and sure enough, as ants approach a picnic, people soon started swarming around the big blue car for a closer look.

Jay, being very kind and enjoying the occasional chat about the car’s heritage, got out to say hello – leaving me inside. Alone.

I thought this was very trusting and nice, and I did my best to entertain myself in his absence, so as not to be a bother.

To achieve this I picked up a shiny black thing that Jay had left on the seat – he is quite often to be seen with this thing wrapped around the front of his face.

It didn’t taste like much, but it was Jay’s and he’s really nice most of the time so I thought the invitation was pretty clear. I picked it up and, to get closer to Jay, I started working at it with my teeth. Nothing strange or violent, just a loving, caring, cozy attempt to make it my own.

After just a couple of minutes I heard:

“Hey! Whatcha got there!”

The general conversation had lulled and Jay had his head stuck in through the door.

I didn’t really have an answer – what could I say? Frankly, I didn’t know what they were! So I just looked sheepish.

20120903-222724.jpg

Jay got mad. Oh, he didn’t show it much, but I could see that the twinkle in his eye had gone, and his upper lip was quivering as though he were trying to decide what to do.

Thereafter and through most of the rest of the day I was treated to much shaking of the head and gnashing of the teeth. I heard many times, “Oh, Rusty!” as though chewing his sunglasses (for so it would seem they are called) were such a bad thing, and “That’s very bad Rusty. Oh, how disappointing!”

I tried to take it all in stride, but it was clear enough that I’d crossed the line.

I suppose I shall have to work on this now – on knowing what to chew and when to chew it. I don’t get the impression that my chewing cost Jay a lot of money, just that it set something back somehow, delayed some kind of progress.

You people talk about new year’s resolutions. Consider we puppies – consider me! I have to make a new resolution every day, and hope to high heaven that I remember it when crunch time hits.

Oh wait, you people have to do that too, don’t you?

R.

About James McDonall

I believe in laughing, especially at yourself, and as often possible. I believe in "live and let live". I believe that communication is the foundation of all our solutions. I believe that listening is more important than speaking, and that speaking should serve the cause of listening. If you like my writing, I'm available for hire. Please send me an Email to discuss your project. View all posts by James McDonall

Leave a Reply

