Mom

So, Jay’s Mom is here visiting with us and I have to say she really is very nice. We’ve been keeping very busy, which is why I haven’t been as active over the past two days. From lost luggage (whatever that is), to lots of car rides and walkies it has been a very hectic time so far. Today we’re taking Ell to Banff, which is a mountain town west of here – you’ll recall that I live in Calgary, Alberta. I’ve never been to Banff – I’m looking forward to it.

Ell being here has had me thinking quite a bit about my own mum, who I honestly don’t remember very well. I seem to recall she was brown in colour, like me. She didn’t smile much, I remember that. I don’t know if it was the difficulties of having five, six, or seven siblings suckling at your teats, or if she just didn’t feel cut-out for motherhood, but from what I remember she was always surly. She certainly wasn’t the ‘sweet nothings’ type, though she was quite good at offering advice when she felt it was warranted. She was wise, I remember – at least she seemed so to me.

Then, one day someone came to the farm to get her, and before you could say “Where did Mama go?” Mama had her bags packed, her make-up on, and she was gone. At the time I didn’t know what “Lemme outta here!” meant, but I think I do now.

20120827-081203.jpg

Anyway, I look at this picture now and then, and I get a little maudlin. These were some of my brothers and sisters. I don’t remember their names, unless they were One, Two, Three, Four, and Me. I would play with them all from time to time, and I remember we had a lot of fun. Some of them cried when I left. Life really is comings and goings, isn’t it?

The bus is just about ready. I saw some cows on Saturday – today they’re saying I might see a moose! Whatever that is.

About James McDonall

I believe in laughing, especially at yourself, and as often possible. I believe in "live and let live". I believe that communication is the foundation of all our solutions. I believe that listening is more important than speaking, and that speaking should serve the cause of listening. If you like my writing, I'm available for hire. Please send me an Email to discuss your project. View all posts by James McDonall

Leave a Reply

