Routine

So I’m figuring out the routine here, although mine appears to be a little different from the guys’. I get up in the morning, go outside and, um, take care of business, then I come inside, eat breakfast, play with the rooster Dee got me, chew my bone, play with the guys, yip a little, howl some, then nap for a while.

Then I wake up, go outside and pee if I need to, look around – at the birds, the bees, the big, wavy trees – watch the occasional ant walk by, perhaps try one on for flavour, then nap for a while.

Then I wake up again, pee, bark at Jay or Em, or whoever happens to be there. I play with them if they’re willing, accept hugs if they’re being dished out, then take another nap.

After that a little more of the same, then a repetition of sorts – birds, bees and whatnot. The details vary – who, what, where – but the basics are the same.

We finish every day with a walk around the big block, including a play in the park and a number of opportunities to sit for a treat, then we chill out and we go to bed. I enjoy my kennel – it gives me time to contemplate what I’ve learned through the day.

Like the value of routine, how things just don’t seem to go right if there’s no framework – that it’s important to know where you are in the day so that you can decide when and if to stretch out a little.

For now though, I think I’ll go take a nap.

R.

20120805-230806.jpg

About James McDonall

I believe in laughing, especially at yourself, and as often possible. I believe in "live and let live". I believe that communication is the foundation of all our solutions. I believe that listening is more important than speaking, and that speaking should serve the cause of listening. If you like my writing, I'm available for hire. Please send me an Email to discuss your project. View all posts by James McDonall

Leave a Reply

