Storm

This morning I’m busy looking for my Insurance policy. There was a storm last night – not the first I’ve been through, but for some reason I noticed this one. I paid attention.

Jay and Em got home after going out for dinner – Jay immediately put me outside and encouraged me to do what I had to. Unfortunately, just at that moment I didn’t have anything to give and, encourage me as he might, I just took it all as a game and started barking.

Just then some strange, wet things started hitting me. Jay looked up at the clouds, now glowering ominously overhead. “Got nothing? Ok, let’s go inside.” and he picked me up from my pen and took me into the house. About two minutes later I was telling Em, rather loudly, about my day when I heard a funny drumming sound.

“It’s raining,” said Jay, and boy, was it ever. There was water pounding down outside, the road was very wet indeed, as was the nice grass in the front yard that I like to sit on when I can. I couldn’t help but interrupt my conversation with Em, to stop and take it all in, and as I watched the wet turned to white – and Jay said “Now it’s hailing!” Em agreed and I looked outside with some fascination.

Unfortunately, that was the moment when I did feel the urge to pee. I sat, bolt upright, and fidgeted at the pangs of need in my nether regions. I forget exactly how I signaled – panting or something – but I felt somewhat deflated when Jay said “ok buddy, just as soon as the rain dies out a bit.”

When the rain slowed down Jay carried me outside and moved my pen into the garage. There were still some rain drops – Jay said there was more coming and I’d best hurry up with what I had to do or I might spend several hours in the garage. This time I took him at his word, and the second I hit the ground I was peeing. I was surprised at my productivity.

Anyway, this morning when I went out I was surprised to find that my little house was all wet. Jay had my bed out and my blankets were hanging on a fence nearby and there was all sorts of water and debris inside. That’s why I’m wondering if I should call my insurance company.

20120801-141842.jpg

But no. Jay says it would probably be more trouble than it is worth.

R.

About James McDonall

I believe in laughing, especially at yourself, and as often possible. I believe in "live and let live". I believe that communication is the foundation of all our solutions. I believe that listening is more important than speaking, and that speaking should serve the cause of listening. If you like my writing, I'm available for hire. Please send me an Email to discuss your project. View all posts by James McDonall

Leave a Reply

