Boundaries

My life isn’t really all that interesting. I mean, I’m learning about stuff and that’s good, and it really takes a lot of my time, but other than that I really don’t do a lot. Jay characterized it quite well the other day when he said that, day by day, I eat, sleep, poop and play. He gets me. That’s my day job. It’s a straight exchange of love for kibble. Of course, in some forms that’s slavery, or even prostitution, but I won’t go there – I like these guys and I don’t get the sense that there’s any ulterior motive.

I’m adapting differently to each of them, thank you. Jay loves me a lot, and he has told me as much, but he is a little less forgiving of some of my foibles than Em is. Jay has set boundaries, and he reacts fairly but firmly when I cross them. Like sometimes I get aggressive while we’re playing and he’ll growl at me like my Momma used to (Dee taught him this) and tap me on the nose with his finger. He also doesn’t like it if I growl at other people in public – he says it has to stop right away (I don’t know why, I’m only having fun!). If I go to chew on his finger he’ll pull it away quickly and say “No!” or, “Licky good, Bitey bad!” like I’m supposed to know what the heck that means.

Em, on the other hand – well, let’s face it – I have Em wrapped around my little paw. He lets me do almost anything I like in the name of playing. I can bite his finger and he’ll say no, but I know he doesn’t mean it. At least for a while. Usually it’s when I draw blood that he starts to mean it.

I’m getting higher on the learning curve, and I’m a happy puppy.

R.

20120724-224529.jpg

About James McDonall

I believe in laughing, especially at yourself, and as often possible. I believe in "live and let live". I believe that communication is the foundation of all our solutions. I believe that listening is more important than speaking, and that speaking should serve the cause of listening. If you like my writing, I'm available for hire. Please send me an Email to discuss your project. View all posts by James McDonall

Leave a Reply

