Freedom

I’ve been noticing a subtle change in attitude around here. Don’t worry, it’s a good thing – it has to do with privileges and freedoms.

When I first got here I was restricted in my movements, and I was supervised – oh boy, was I supervised. Frankly, most of the time I was carried around, and when I was on the floor by myself, I was watched very closely indeed, lest I “drop a bomb” or “tinkle” where I oughtn’t.

I decided to smarten up my act, and I figured out that going outside – where they repeatedly put me after the fact anyway – was far better than going inside. It brought positive results – hugs, kisses, approbation – whereas leaking inside brought only criticism and tension. Since figuring this out, I’ve had a relatively good go of it.

Just lately, I’ve noticed a few more privileges inside the house. Being allowed to go from chair to chair across the living room carpet, for example, and this morning being allowed to play on Jay’s bed for a few minutes (boy, did I take advantage of that!)

20120723-121117.jpg

Today there are only two barriers up in the house: I respect their intent, though I could probably push them both down if I really tried. There’s also a place they call “the basement” which strangely enough is not barricaded, but it’s just so darned dark down there that I’m not keen to go on my own just yet – for the time being I’ll let them carry me there as needed.

You know I’ll keep plugging at it, and I’ll let you know how it goes.

R.

About James McDonall

I believe in laughing, especially at yourself, and as often possible. I believe in "live and let live". I believe that communication is the foundation of all our solutions. I believe that listening is more important than speaking, and that speaking should serve the cause of listening. If you like my writing, I'm available for hire. Please send me an Email to discuss your project. View all posts by James McDonall

Leave a Reply

