Goosfraba

This is a term I’ve heard ever since I arrived here – goosfraba. It is apparently a word used by eskimos to calm their children, though why it should have any relevance whatsoever to me I have no idea. Of course, it could be the way I get excited when I’m playing, or how I bite when I’m excited, or how biting makes me feel inside – feral, like a wolf. I don’t know. When the word is used, it is with an almost exasperated, though reverential tone, an theatrical angst, as if written in capital letters, like “Rusty, GOOSFRABA, GOOSFRABA RUSTY!!!” Actually, it’s a bit of a mystery to me.

Goosfraba notwithstanding, today was a day of great hugs and cuddles for me. All earned, and very plainly well-deserved because I was a good boy. Em hugged me and played with me while Dee and Jay were out, and before they left and when they got back they handled the Rusty-hugging chore, like a tag-team going for the belt.

In response (or perhaps in anticipation) I provided timely and geographically accurate deposits for them to ooh and aah over, and brag about. I don’t know if any of those guys have been counting at all, but today marks at least the eighth day since I pooped indoors, and the fifth day since I watered. Today was also the first day that I was allowed to cavort on the living room carpet – even if only for a moment and with a great deal of supervision. I feel trust growing, and that’s a good feeling. I will continue to do this poop thing right. I’m at the point now where if I feel it pushing I just hold it in. The rewards of hugs and treats are just too great to pass up.

20120716-233953.jpg

Jay has found me a little house to rest in on the warmer evenings, and he says he’ll be getting it ready for me shortly. Apparently it needs to be safetied and painted so I can use it without hurting myself. I’m looking forward to trying it out – looks like it will be cozy. It’s got shingles and everything. Dee says she wants a picture of me lying on my back on top of the house with goggles on – I don’t know why, but the word “Snoopy” keeps coming up.

So, all pooping aside, I hope you are all well, enjoying your family, your summer, and this little ol’ blog thingy of mine.

Stay tuned. I have a feeling that I’m still at the thin end of the learning wedge.

R.

About James McDonall

I believe in laughing, especially at yourself, and as often possible. I believe in "live and let live". I believe that communication is the foundation of all our solutions. I believe that listening is more important than speaking, and that speaking should serve the cause of listening. If you like my writing, I'm available for hire. Please send me an Email to discuss your project. View all posts by James McDonall

Leave a Reply

