Potty animal

It’s a simple concept, but it seems to be catching on around here. Jay always thought it would, but Em doubted, and frankly so did I. About a week ago Jay bought a set of bells and hung them on the back door. Now, I didn’t think too much of it really – it honestly wasn’t that big a deal, but it seemed to be the answer to something. And that something seemed to be the potty thing.

20120708-222315.jpg

Nothing really changed for me, except that whenever Jay took me outside he put me down on the ground and swiped my paw through the bells. Strange behaviour, Uncy Jay, I thought, but hey – whatever floats your boat. Then today there was something different. This afternoon I realized very suddenly that I needed to – you know – go. I summoned recent memories of “good boy / bad boy” and decided which one I wanted, then I thought about it, and when Em went down the stairs to take out some garbage I followed him down to the landing, and waited.

After a few minutes Em came back and went upstairs to the kitchen, ignoring me completely.This made me mad so I barked, and in sheer frustration I swiped my paw through the bell. It jingled loudly, and Em turned to look. I was pointing at the door and the bell was still swinging. Em looked at me strangely, then strode quickly over to the stairs and down, and bent over to pick me up. In a moment I was outside, and then suddenly it happened. Poops. And lots of it.

This caused tremendous excitement in the house, which I found strange until I realized what the excitement was about. It wasn’t that I had pooped, because I had done that many times before. No, it was because I had rung the bells. At the time this had just seemed like something to do, but then I realized that they had actually done their job. The bells were there to give me a way to signal my needs, and they had done exactly that.

Simple, really. A very simple concept.

R.

About James McDonall

I believe in laughing, especially at yourself, and as often possible. I believe in "live and let live". I believe that communication is the foundation of all our solutions. I believe that listening is more important than speaking, and that speaking should serve the cause of listening. If you like my writing, I'm available for hire. Please send me an Email to discuss your project. View all posts by James McDonall

Leave a Reply

