Mellow

Havin’ a good day today. Just one little foul-up – hardly worth mentioning really, unless your name is Em, and even then it’s really only noteworthy on the fly. I’m currently six-to-one in favour of outdoors, and as Martha Stewart would say, “That’s a good thing.”

Do you know the word ‘grooming’? I’ve heard it quite a lot today, though I can’t imagine why – as far as I’m concerned I’m cute enough, and so many strangers seem to agree with me. Nevertheless, Jay gave me a bum-wash the other day and said that I lost 75% of my volume when I was wet, so I suppose that was a bit of an omen. Apparently my Aunty Dee is going to help choose a groomer, Jay and Em being so green in this regard. Actually Jay and Em went to their groomer today and they didn’t look too bad for five minutes or so, so maybe it’s something I should pursue. Probably good for attracting the chicks.

We went to one of them Stampede barbecue deals today, where the food is free and the company is very nice. Lots of people came over to see me, which was nice. I haven’t lost it yet. In fact, I’m pretty sure I could get another gig if this one didn’t pan out. Still, Jay and Em are quite nice really – though I wouldn’t say that in front of them lest they get swell heads.

After the barbecue I got a little excitable on the way back to the truck – almost jumped out of Jay’s arms while Em was trying to get hold of me in a hand-off. That was my bad; I don’t know what I was thinking – it’s just all so darned new to me! I’m afraid I made everyone mad for a few minutes: of course they were only worried that I’d land on my head and start thinking like them – I mean, they only had my best interests at heart. Well, no harm no foul, as I believe the saying goes.

It’s a very nice day today and we’re sitting on the back patio for a change – which is to say that Jay is sitting on the patio with me for a change – usually I’m out here all by myself. Hey, I don’t mind that, I really don’t, but it is nice to have some company too. Here I am now.

20120707-173429.jpg

Going to try to watch the fireworks later tonight, though they are very loud.

R.

About James McDonall

I believe in laughing, especially at yourself, and as often possible. I believe in "live and let live". I believe that communication is the foundation of all our solutions. I believe that listening is more important than speaking, and that speaking should serve the cause of listening. If you like my writing, I'm available for hire. Please send me an Email to discuss your project. View all posts by James McDonall

Leave a Reply

