Ruff

I had a ruff day yesterday.

I knew it was wrong as soon as I did it, but by then it was too late. I remember it clearly. I was bouncing around the kitchen, happy in my heart as I watched Jay cooking supper – he said something about visitors coming and I was looking forward to that. Anyway, I found myself suddenly sniffing the floor, running around the perimeter of the room, just minding my own business. But what I had forgotten is that this was what I do when I’m getting ready to… er, you know.

Anyway, I did. And just as soon as I did I thought “Oops!” and rushed to try to hide in the corner. Even though I’m just twelve and a half weeks now I just knew it was wrong.

Sure enough, Jay found it, and I got “the stare”. I’ve seen that stare a couple of times – usually when I… er, you know. Within a few moments I was outside in my pen, looking at the birds again, smacking my lips, contemplating life in general. Just trying to figure things out.

Our visitors were a lot of fun, though of course, I was not allowed to actually have dinner with them. What they were having smelled good – something to do with shepherds – but I know better than to bother them while they’re eating. Don’t ask me how I know that.

Jay says we’re going to have another visitor tomorrow. His sister, Dee, is coming here from some place called Toronto. Apparently it’s quite a long way away, and I seem to remember hearing about it once back on the farm. Someone said something about smoke. Jay says Dee is going to train him (not me this time!) in how to figure me out. I honestly didn’t think I was that inscrutable, but I guess I must have my moments.

Jay also says that today is Parade Day at something called the Calgary Stampede. He says it’s quite a party in town, though I doubt that I’ll be seeing much of it. Still, I think I’ll check it out on TV and see what it’s all about. No, I don’t have a hat. But who knows – maybe that’s still to come!

R.

About James McDonall

I believe in laughing, especially at yourself, and as often possible. I believe in "live and let live". I believe that communication is the foundation of all our solutions. I believe that listening is more important than speaking, and that speaking should serve the cause of listening. If you like my writing, I'm available for hire. Please send me an Email to discuss your project. View all posts by James McDonall

Leave a Reply

