Chums

Alright, listen up folks – I don’t know if this is just me, or if everyone experiences this, but everywhere I go I seem to have no trouble making new friends. This is a most singular thing – whether I stay home (for home it certainly now is), or go out for a walk, or go to a car show, or whatever, there are always nice people keen to say hello and give me cuddles. Be honest – is that your experience too?

Jay and Em had guests for dinner last night and they were very nice – Ida even hugged me and let me kiss her right on the lips once, which was nice. She was a little shocked, though. They were playing some kind of card game and I heard a bunch of words yelled out quite loudly that I haven’t heard before; I will have to remember to look them up in the dictionary. Then this morning another nice lady came over and held me and said hi. I’m afraid I go a little batty when new people come around – I wriggle a lot and that poops me out.

Oh, yesterday’s score? 4-1 in favour of the great outdoors. Jay keeps talking about getting a bell of some sort to teach me how to go outside. I don’t know how that’s going to work – something about Pavlova – but isn’t that some kind of dessert? I’m not sure how that’s going to help me figure things out. Oh well, he’s older than me so maybe he knows. Or, perhaps you can enlighten me on how that works.

It’s cloudy today, but dry. It’s also cool out so I don’t know how much time I’ll get in the den today. Jay has also talked about me spending a couple of hours in my boudoir because he and Em have to go to the airport. I’ll probably just sleep – not much point getting excited about it.

Every day when I wake up I wonder what kind of day it’s going to be. I ask myself how many right decisions I’ll make, and how many wrong ones. I guess that’s what life is – it’s making as many right decisions as you can, and keeping the wrong ones (which we’re all going to make eventually) to a minimum. Think of life as like flying an airplane – if you fly even one degree off course you will never get where you want to be, so you’ve got to make sure that you stay on target.

My target today is a clean day – no poops or peeps in the house. Now, where’s that bell?!

About James McDonall

I believe in laughing, especially at yourself, and as often possible. I believe in "live and let live". I believe that communication is the foundation of all our solutions. I believe that listening is more important than speaking, and that speaking should serve the cause of listening. If you like my writing, I'm available for hire. Please send me an Email to discuss your project. View all posts by James McDonall

Leave a Reply

