Early riser

Yesterday’s rain made it very difficult for me to get the exercise I needed, and truth be known, I didn’t. Let’s face it, there’s no fun in running along the sidewalk, getting wet in the bottom the top and the middle, and then having to submit to the indignity of a really vigorous toweling down. I did what I could by pooping in the den where they set it up in the garage so at least I stayed dry through the process. But the air was cold and I thought constantly about getting back indoors.

Indoors or out, it rained most of the evening and into the night. Then it rained even more, into the wee hours of the morning, and it was still raining – pretty hard, too – when I snapped awake at three o’clock in the morning. Has that ever happened to you? You just lie there in the dark, staring at the ceiling, or whatever you’re staring at, and you can’t sleep a wink because there’s so much stuff going through your mind? I haven’t had that happen very often, but it sure happened last night, and I’m afraid I didn’t handle it very well as my subtle interior monologue very quickly turned into a screeching tirade of frustrated, sleepless puppyness.

This, of course, woke up Jay, who was sleeping nearby. He was patient at first, but for some reason I just couldn’t stop myself from squawking, and sure enough it wasn’t long before his patience stretched thin. Out came the flashlight, checking my kennel for poop, but of course I was a good boy and there was none. I kept howling, and scratching my kennel for dear life. I wanted out! This lying there sleepless thing was driving me crazy, and I just didn’t want to do it any more!

Finally I’m afraid I pissed Jay off so that it took him raising his voice before I realized how selfish I was being. I decided to think about other things, nicer things, and you know soon enough I was drifting off to sleep again, and so was Jay. Unfortunately, the alarm went off just three hours later and we had to get up so I could do a 10-100. I didn’t get back to sleep after that, though Jay did.

He looked at me strangely all day long.

I think people behave strangely when they don’t get any sleep.

Rusty

About James McDonall

I believe in laughing, especially at yourself, and as often possible. I believe in "live and let live". I believe that communication is the foundation of all our solutions. I believe that listening is more important than speaking, and that speaking should serve the cause of listening. If you like my writing, I'm available for hire. Please send me an Email to discuss your project. View all posts by James McDonall

Leave a Reply

