Distractions

The biggest thing I’ve noticed since coming here – I’ve learned from the TV that this place is called Calgary – is how big everything is. In the basement back at the farm our space was quite small – really just the pen I was born in and the little space around the pee pads. But here, everything is HUGE! I suppose when I first got here I was overwhelmed by it all – I mean, all of a sudden everything in my world had changed, and I should probably be honest and admit that I wasn’t very well prepared for it all.

As an example, I went from the pee pads to an entire back yard in just a few hours – just try and tell me that isn’t a big adjustment. Then, the next day, I was out walking around the block with Jay – and if you don’t think there’s anything to sniff going around the block well, you’re just going to have to think again. Trees, bushes, fences, twigs, branches, grass, bottles and cans (yuck!) – so much to see and sniff. Then there was another dog, a big, burly, 25-pound Yorkie who really seemed to want to get to know me, except Jay wouldn’t allow it. Soooo many distractions.

Then there have been all the people who wanted to say ‘hi’ – at the car show, in the park, all over the place! This is all worlds removed from the basement at the farm, believe me, so really it’s no wonder that I’ve had a hard time developing what I think Jay calls “a routine” with my poops and peeps.

They got me this pen thing yesterday and put it outside in the back yard (Jay said it’s coming out of my allowance, whatever that is…), and every once in a while since then they’ve been putting me in there to relax. I didn’t like it very much at first, but they put one of my stuffies in with me and some newspaper to read, and an old car mat with carpet to lie on, and now I actually find it quite cozy. Now I’m quite happy just sitting there, outside, watching the crows and the magpies fly around, (looking lasciviously down at me, I’m bound to say), checking out robins and finches taking a bath in a big elevated puddle they’ve found, and feeling comfy doing my business without risk of consequences since Jay has said repeatedly and with conviction, “Rusty – go poop, go peep, go poop, go peep!” and I really must take him at his word.

So I think I’m starting to put things together:
Outdoors – good = hugs.
Indoors – bad = no hugs and time in my corner.

This morning I got up when Jay did, went immediately to the pen, did my thing, and for my efforts was immediately picked up and – let’s face it – adored!

I could definitely get used to that kind of thing.

20120625-091432.jpg

About James McDonall

I believe in laughing, especially at yourself, and as often possible. I believe in "live and let live". I believe that communication is the foundation of all our solutions. I believe that listening is more important than speaking, and that speaking should serve the cause of listening. If you like my writing, I'm available for hire. Please send me an Email to discuss your project. View all posts by James McDonall

Leave a Reply

