Show, and shine

Now today was an interesting day. Let’s get the poop thing out of the way, because I know you’re interested, though I can’t for the life of me figure out why. Jay got up this morning at 630 and I went straight outside and did my peepers. He was so pleased that he picked me up, as wet as I was because of the rain, and gave me a great, big hug. That made me feel good and I wiggled my ass all the way back to the house, and then all the way back into my kennel. Later I found a good spot for the 10-200 I still had to do, and I let ‘er rip, but I guess this wasn’t so good because my chosen spot was indoors. I will get this, I will get this, I will get this.

Later we went to a car show. It was pretty small by anyone’s standards, but it was pretty nice too because there were so many people there who wanted to talk to me. That’s the thing right now – everyone wants to be my friend, if only for a few minutes. We were walking around – which is to say that Jay was walking around, and I was being carried – when one nice lady looked over toward us and cried out: “Oh, aren’t you cute!” Well, Jay didn’t skip a beat – he replied, quickly, “Well, thank you so much!” and they both laughed. Of course, she was referring to me, which is flattering in its way, but also a little embarrassing, since it seems to happen quite a lot.

When we got home I sat outside on the chain for about 40 minutes. Jay and Em did everything they could to get me to – I believe the phrase is “take a leak” – but either I didn’t understand or I was determined not to. Anyway, it started raining so they brought me inside, where I saw the newspaper on the floor, which brought on a flood of memories, which inevitably brought on another kind of flood, followed by a number of undeleted expletives, a world more embarrassment, and a number of required minutes in my ‘quiet corner’, just contemplating my navel. I will get this.

After that – I don’t think it was intended as a punishment since they had been talking about it all day anyway – I was given a bum wash. They called it a “spa treatment” but I wasn’t fooled. They got me wet, they soaped me up, they rinsed me, they dried me with towels, and they got out something they called a “blow dryer”. In general even though the whole process was a bit of a shock at first, it was actually kind of fun. They said something about doing that weekly – hmm, I’m not sure I want that, but it’s not so bad, I guess.

Anyway, I have been running around the back yard like a lunatic, so I’m going to take a nap.

Rusty.

About James McDonall

I believe in laughing, especially at yourself, and as often possible. I believe in "live and let live". I believe that communication is the foundation of all our solutions. I believe that listening is more important than speaking, and that speaking should serve the cause of listening. If you like my writing, I'm available for hire. Please send me an Email to discuss your project. View all posts by James McDonall

Leave a Reply

