Pupponality

Uncy Jay says these are my formative times. I wonder how I’m doing – I’m really not sure. I try hard, I really do, but sometimes it’s hard to know what is the right thing to do. Do you find that too? I sure hope I’m not alone.

Today for example, I had a devil of a time figuring out if I wanted to sleep in the living room or in the kitchen. That’s a tough decision. I mean, the living room is nice, with the comfy furniture and all and because the guys spend most of their time there, but my cozy spot is in the kitchen, underneath the telephone table. So how do I balance the one against the other?

Another example. At the breeders I was told it was ok to play rough with my stuffies, to knock them about a little. But here, even though there are so many of them, I get in a lot of trouble for wanting to play with them at all. And I don’t mean Jay or Em, but with the stuffies themselves! I wanted to play with this little bruiser yesterday, and he seemed willing enough, but then, the first time I nipped his ear a bit too hard he just turned around, and hauled off and slapped me! I couldn’t believe – I’ve never met a stuffie yet that actually defended himself, but this one did.

20120622-234016.jpg

Scary stuff. I asked Jay about him and he just told me that this is Sidney, and that he’s the President of the stuffies here, that he’s held in very high esteem, and that he of any or all of them will definitely look after himself if provoked. Apparently he’s been here eight years already, which makes him 56 in dog years, which tells me that I should definitely respect him as one who knows.

The peep score today is 4 – 2. 4 outside and 2 inside. Apparently, Jay is quite pleased with this, but he says there’s still room for improvement. He says, puffing up a bit, “It shows definite progress, yes it does…” Which of course makes me quite happy.

After all, I just want to be a good boy.

Rusty

About James McDonall

I believe in laughing, especially at yourself, and as often possible. I believe in "live and let live". I believe that communication is the foundation of all our solutions. I believe that listening is more important than speaking, and that speaking should serve the cause of listening. If you like my writing, I'm available for hire. Please send me an Email to discuss your project. View all posts by James McDonall

Leave a Reply

