Delivery

So when the lady handed me over it felt kind of weird. There was something very final about it, as though there was no turning back. Of course, at the time I didn’t realize that I would probably never see my brothers and sisters again: I just thought I was on a nice little road trip.

That changed pretty quickly once they took me in their car with them. It was a nice car, quiet inside with big seats, and they were playing nice music. One of them, whom I will call Jay, started to say strange things, like “welcome to your new life,” and “we’re going home now.” That’s when I started to hope what I thought – that they were good people, and that they would look after me, at least for a while. You have to remember, at ten weeks old I’m still quite small.

This kind of talk though made me nervous. I suddenly started thinking of my siblings, left behind now, and very possibly wondering where I was. But even as I thought of them I couldn’t help but marvel at everything that was going on.

Jay said “we’re home, Rusty!” as we pulled into a long, paved driveway. It was a nice house in a nice neighborhood, with lots of tall trees all over the place. He had started to say that word – Rusty – every time he spoke to me. Actually, I found it strange but I played along. Just at that moment I figured I’d figure out what was going on as time went by.

We spent a little time in the back yard (I ate a pebble!), then went inside. Jay and Em steered me toward what they called “your bed”. It was well-stocked with toys and brushes and so on – it was nice. They gave me some food and some water, and I took a bit of a nap, sleeping very lightly.

Speaking of sleeping lightly, that’s what I’m going to do now.

Rusty

About James McDonall

I believe in laughing, especially at yourself, and as often possible. I believe in "live and let live". I believe that communication is the foundation of all our solutions. I believe that listening is more important than speaking, and that speaking should serve the cause of listening. If you like my writing, I'm available for hire. Please send me an Email to discuss your project. View all posts by James McDonall

Leave a Reply

