New here

Call me Rusty.

I was one happy member of a litter of pups born on April 13th, 2012, which makes me new around here. I mean brand new.

The first few weeks are a blur now, but I do remember spending a lot of time with quite a few other pups – ten or twelve or so – in a nice, large room. My Dad was there, I remember that. My Mom wasn’t, though – I was told that she lived somewhere else and just came over for visits. I guess you could say my parents were split up – which is sad for me.

This was the first time I laid eyes on my two new friends.

I do remember (I think) that I had four brothers and two sisters, and I enjoyed cuddling with them on the floor. There were large stuffies – that’s stuffed animals, for the uninitiated – for us to lie on, and we did. I had some nice long sleeps with those stuffies – but they didn’t do anything or say much so it was pretty boring most of the time. There wasn’t even a book to read – that would have been nice once in a while. My siblings and I would of course argue occasionally, but we always wound up together again, so that’s okay. “Perfectly normal,” as my Dad would harrumph.

One of the first things my mom told me when my eyes were open was that most people are nice, but some are not. I don’t understand this yet because so far I haven’t met any one who is not nice, but my mom wouldn’t lie so I will keep it all in mind as I move on.

Then the other day two nice guys came to see us all and I guess I must have liked them ‘coz I went over to say hi and the next thing you know I’m licking he one guy’s face, and playing with them, and then I saw them smiling and filling in a form of some kind with the nice lady, and heard all my brothers and sisters whispering and giggling, and before I knew it I was being given a bum wash and being driven a long way to a big place with lots of cars and lots of people in it.

The last two sleeps have been something of a whirlwind for me – there’s so much to tell and I promise I’ll start with my next entry. For now, though, I’m pooped and I need to take a nap.

Rusty

About James McDonall

I believe in laughing, especially at yourself, and as often possible. I believe in "live and let live". I believe that communication is the foundation of all our solutions. I believe that listening is more important than speaking, and that speaking should serve the cause of listening. If you like my writing, I'm available for hire. Please send me an Email to discuss your project. View all posts by James McDonall

Leave a Reply

